top of page

Purslane Exhibits Varied Characteristics

Purslane is an awesome plant that has many characteristics. I am currently experimenting with different cutting techniques to grow the plant in different fashions. As of this post, I am cutting the plants either at the base or two inches higher. Purslane is used to much less water and no shelter during summer months in Arizona, and it grows many branches and stays close to the ground. My next post will be about Purslane in the wild.


Not quite the size of an asparagus spear I would buy from a store when asparagus is in season...my fingers are sort of thick nonetheless. When I harvest this one, it will be featured due to its unique size.


A harvested spear that is much larger than anything I have seen in the wild.


I like to harvest the Purslane and then put the spears in a ball jar with water. In about 2 to 4 hours the harvested Purslane becomes firmer than when harvested.


The Purslane quite literally grows off the ground.


My hand is in all these photos...maybe it helps you see how robust the Purslane is growing.


This plant was started wild in a local park...in about 2 to 3 weeks the plant will be transformed into a true food

47 views0 comments

Comments


!
Widget Didn’t Load
Check your internet and refresh this page.
If that doesn’t work, contact us.
bottom of page