top of page

It's Arizona...114 degrees in July

Updated: Jul 14, 2020

The Purslane is doing well; in fact, the Purslane is handling the heat better than any other plant I have in the ground. The shade structures are helping immensely...I know this is true, because the hot pepper plants that suffered in June are doing well with temperatures 20 degrees hotter than when these structures were built. Additionally, wood chips have been spread on the periphery and thinly throughout the planted areas; straw hay is also spread on the periphery and throughout the planted areas.

I look forward to seeing how the next months pan out. Currently, the Purslane is rising up from the ground to reach for the sky. Purslane is usually low to the ground when water is scarce.


My purslane began in two ways. First, spontaneously the purslane grew after preparing the ground by raking away the rocks and removing the black plastic four inches under the ground. Second, I went to the nearby park and dug some up. Every transplanted plant is working out very well but one, which was just a think stalk that I wanted to see if it could survive...it still may.


Tonight, i eat some of the growth from the original plants. The three original plants grew for 2 months before I harvested them all at once, which netted me about a gallon of purslane, which was about 3/4 of the stems collected. I was rough thinking that it was an experiment that needed to end and make room for my next plants. BUT, I was wrong...the purslane lasted me a week and made for 4 immense salads I made. Tonight's harvest is smaller than those salads and will be combined with steak and garlic.


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


!
Widget Didn’t Load
Check your internet and refresh this page.
If that doesn’t work, contact us.
bottom of page