top of page
  • Writer's pictureTAO

Actually, I Don't Smoke Anymore

Updated: Jun 10, 2020

Today I went to the bar near my old job...i would stop there after work regularly and get several beers and smoke a lot of cigarettes. I was testing my new $700 fat-tire mountain bike with a 50 mile ride along dirt paths along canals around 3 cities in greater Phoenix. I wanted to see the old bar and needed some cold NA drinks at mile 40ish. I saw the bar owner and we chatted. He hasn't seen me in about a year...i started on my journey last year in late July...made it 97 days before I broke with an emotional response to an impossible situation.


The bike is about 50% of my savings from not smoking the last 130ish consecutive days. I love the bike and couldn't afford nice things when I was soaking myself in alcohol and nicotine. Last month I completed a 56k hike on my 46th birthday. This month my goal is 150 miles in a day on my new bike. I'm sure of this...i couldn't ever do these things as a smoker and drinker. 24 pack-a-day years, 28 years as a binge drinker....i tried many times to stop by using multiple methods and techniques. The advice I have is to drink a lot of water, sleep a lot, exercise, journal, eat well, keep track with apps, and come here to comment.


Hug...i love you as a nonsmoker (and nondrinker)...it isn't easy, but it's the most worthwhile present you can give yourself...the quality of life is measurably better!


Note...i couldn't quit smoking and continue to drink, I tried hundreds of times...so I gave up alcohol to quit SMOKING.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page