top of page
  • Writer's pictureTAO

Cheers

Updated: Jun 10, 2020

Cheers with a soda water and lime!


Quick stats at this moment: 361 beers not drunk (66,000 calories), 2,190 cigarettes not smoked, savings over $2,600 not spent on hurting my health (I spent every penny on nutritious food, new clothing, and outdoor gear). If you haven't tried alcohol-free living, then I recommend trying it until you know it isn't for you. Oh, it isn't easy until it is easier and fulfilling..I dare you to try!

 

Besides, if you have been drinking your entire adult life...are you sure it is a positive factor even though you never tried long-term sobriety??? I'm testing the hypothesis that alcohol was detrimental, which will take at least 12 months of observations to support my working theory that alcohol was the root of my problems. So far, I'm happy, feeling competent, loving my healthy gains, and facing all issues head on...it took at last 30 days to see any positive aspects other than the delicious meals prepared from ingredients I could now afford. (Note, I wrote this during my first sober stint of the 2019-2020 stretch...I still have not yet met 12 months on June 2, 2020)

 

It will be an interesting Act II for me with the wisdom and knowledge applied to the newness of becoming different than I was and incorporating the best of my former self. One pillar of me is embodied by: "it is be􀂂er to regret something you have done than to regret something you haven't done"...yes, it works both ways with an eye looking inward and the other to the future. Alcohol did not rob me of a life well-lived, and alcohol will not help me in Act II.

 
Loneliness is challenging. I'm on day 135 sober...i miss the woman I love, but she drank a lot; the friends I had, but they all drink a lot; the fun I had, but I can't afford wasting money; the feelings of contentment I had, but I hate being hung over for days; the relaxation thought I had, but the anxiety of being lost was overwhelming...

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page