top of page
  • Writer's pictureTAO

Dear Human

Quitting is a process of dealing with cravings on an ongoing process. You will probably fail your first attempt...more fail than succeed on their first attempt...but everyone that keeps trying will succeed with ending their addictions. Please be kind to yourself during the process.


You should prepare yourself for your quit date. Write out:

  • your reasons why you quit

  • the itinerary of your weeks and upcoming months as a nonuser of tobacco and alcohol and other substances you feel you are addicted to

  • what you plan to do if you use again.

Post reminders on the refrigerator, your doors, your closet, wherever...put a reminder in your phone for every day at 6am to "love yourself". *smile*, please find a support group on Reddit or Facebook where you can comment on other people's struggles. The best way to ensure success is by helping others with their addiction. You see yourself in their shoes, where they are, and you use your anecdotes to help them become better. I use these forums as reminders of where alcoholism and cigarette addiction can lead; I use these forums to bring a little sunshine to others who are struggling. I am sometimes contacted by new members for my private thoughts on their struggles. I am not a certified counselor, but I know intimately about what it feels like to not have something that your body craves.


I am not smarter than you, I am not braver than others who faced themselves and overcame their respective addictions. In fact, I am quite average. BUT, I do have perseverance, which I did not know was as strong as it is until I successfully left my addictions in the past starting on January 22, 2020. I thought that I had done this once before on July 22, 2019, but I was not strong enough to overcome my sadness with a challenging situation 97 days thereafter. I missed my first day 100 by 3 fucking days. Guess what, I remedied that situation eventually and cauterized that trigger; sometimes you have to leave a situation in order to finalize a lasting solution.


I love my brain now; but I have fewer original thoughts and my motivation is in the crapper. But, I know this will not be the case forever, and this was the first step to ensuring my future, which was not certain given my propensity to drop out. HUG, please, please, please, make a plan to quit.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page