top of page
  • Writer's pictureTAO

Protect Your Sobriety

Protect your sobriety like you would a family member! Let sobriety define you, it is very becoming!


I am on day 224, which means I have foregone 956 drinks and 175,000 beer calories and spending $4,550. “I quit drinking so I could successfully quit smoking” is my favorite response for why I began this quest. I did not like to think about myself as an alcoholic, and I avoided the term as best as I could by explaining to people: ‘a recent incident made it clear that I am allergic to alcohol’, ‘I wanted to see what all the hype was about, so I quit drinking’, and ‘I drank enough for two lifetimes already’. What I tell myself often is: I love what is happening by not drinking and smoking, so I am going to pursue this Path until the fun streak ceases being better than life was while drinking and smoking.”


I worked diligently to become me presently. I invested a lot of time into this man, and I am very proud of what the investment has given me. The stories are long, and sometimes they are short…I kept track of many moments by writing them down by remembering them as I responded to an Op’s post. I have read thousands of comments and posts over the last year, because I earnestly started this journey years ago and it finally resulted in 97 days last year. I started by losing my streak after a night of smoking and drinking to relax from a trigger. About a month later, I knew that I would need to reset my counter given I had decided that I would get drunk and smoke cigarettes to have fun with this same trigger. I bounced around sobriety and lost it and so on until a moment afforded me the reflection, I needed to get started again…that reflection could be titled “the tenuousness of my predicament.”


I hope you love your self and find your self on this journey. Reddit has been essential in my healing; “there are subs for that”. The biggest help came from setting endurance goals for my fitness, eating healthily, drinking A LOT of water, and being transparent about my journey by writing it down (coming here and commenting). Oh, 215 days as of today, I have not smoked 5,500 cigarettes and saved $2,300 by omitting nicotine from my life. I would lose approximately $6,900 invested into sobriety and nicotine-free life if I were to let a trigger or a moment be more valuable than what I have earned!


Protect your sobriety like you would a family member! Let sobriety define you, it is very becoming!


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page