top of page
  • Writer's pictureTAO

The Day My Aunt Harriet Died

I was on day 12, and my mom phoned me to tell me the news. I was saddened that I had lost touch with this awesome woman who wrote me letters as a youth. Well, previously, I took any bad news as an opportunity to justify getting really drunk to "deal with the pain".


I took a walk to think about how I was going to deal with this sadness...i walked by my local bar, then past two others I frequented over the years. My conclusion was that my aunt would be so proud of me for my sobriety and departure from pack-a-day smoking, which I had been clean from for an equal amount of time. I ate a huge Thai meal at my favorite restaurant, left a nice tip and walked 2 miles home.


Day 67 coming up, and life has been getting immeasurably better. I don't feel a pang for drunkenness anymore.


Celebrating sobriety is quintessential for the continued determination during the first 30 days...now, I'm trying to stack achievements, add new challenges for bettering life, and realizing that an improved reality requires vigilance and patience and is incremental but accumulative.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page