top of page
  • Writer's pictureTAO

Optimism

Updated: Jun 10, 2020

Alcohol is the worst, the absolute worst partner you will ever have...you will need _me to heal!


But, when the healing is magically over...you will know it, because you will have found your soulmate...sobriety! And you will know this is real by the happiness you feel when you wake up next to sobriety. Protect sobriety...Protect sobriety like you would defend your children, mom, or other loved one from harm!


I'm hopeful as an optimist is by definition, and I'm realist as a fact-driven, sober man. Unfortunately, sobriety doesn't let me hide from facts like I used to do...


I dislike the term alcoholic...it feels very loaded...so here are a few ideas that I like to use...please borrow or modify for your own description when asked why you are not having a drink...


"Simply, I don't drink....I have an allergic reaction to alcohol...I drank enough for 3 lifetimes already...you know, I don't get much out of it considering the risks...my dad was an alcoholic and I'm not..." If you are in a pinch, and someone will not let go, then you can relate this to them...'as I understand it, if you cannot stop drinking, then you are my have a problem and be an alcoholic...if I do not drink, then there isn't any indication that I have a problem with alcohol"


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page