top of page
  • Writer's pictureTAO

RELAPSE SUCKS

Updated: Aug 19, 2020

I made it 97 days before I had another drink and cigarettes; I was in an impossible situation and felt as though that I could only solve my angst with drinking half a bottle of wine and smoking some cigarettes. in effect, I was rejected by the woman that I loved (again), and she chose alcohol and cigarettes over me (again).


I spent the next few months balancing a new start with sobriety and focused on quitting all nicotine permanently. I had previously used a vaporizer to help me with the cigarettes; however, the vape became its own addiction and I really got anxious if I could not get my guaranteed vape every half hour. Here are some excerpts over these months:

 

"Alcoholism is not a prerequisite to being a nondrinker. However, not being able to be sober is an indication of Alcoholism. "

My response to someone giving me a tough time about not having a drink at a holiday party.

 

An Open Sobriety is important. Do not hide your sobriety or quitting cigarettes or other addictions from your friends and family; you never know who you will inspire by your ability to maintain your new Path and the support you will get to help you achieve your goals.

 

I knew she was a trigger and when i feel abandoned and unloved, alcohol was the answer...cigarettes were the norm. Thank you community for the support and stories that keep me going. I will keep my head up and be proud of my ongoing smokefree and sober life.


It's the journey of many to relapse, but the determination to stay quit is the test. One day at a time with goals....my next half marathon is less than a month away for this 45-year-old with 25 years of binge drinking and pack-a-day smoking. I'm learned from my last Quit, and I'm now learned from my relapse. Oh, this isn't my first Quit, but this relapse marked my longest success streak which I've officially restarted today.

 

True this. I agree wholeheartedly and my next lover will be sober and athletic and caring. No more types that do not want the same.

 
I hated the feeling of weakness in my brain and body.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page